January Events

Happy New Year!

One of my goals for 2010 is to test for 4th degree black belt at Master Joe’s tournament (coming up February 27).  To that end, I’m going to be reprising some of the seminars I’ve taught over the last couple of years featuring a few of the 3rd-4th degree forms I’ll need to test on.  I’m squeezing these in over the next 3 weekends to get them all in before Carnival season kicks into gear.  Here is the schedule:

This Saturday, Jan 9:  Dragon King Dance (7 Section Chain Whip)
Sat 1/16: Tang Lang Chu’an (Praying Mantis Fist)
Sat 1/23: Pang Lung Pang (Entwining Dragon Staff)

All the seminars will take place after class, from approx 1:45 to 3pm.  This will be a FREE review if you’ve taken these forms with me before, or $20 if you’re taking them for the first time.  They are all fun and challenging and all-in-all a productive way to spend a cold Saturday afternoon.

Last year I realized a life-long dream of directing and acting in a feature film.  I credit my Shaolin-Do training and teachers with giving me the discipline, courage, and vision that made it possible for me to accomplish that.  Of course I never could have done it without Helen, who wrote and produced the film (the hardest job of all), and the many other great actors and crew members who devoted themselves heart & soul to the collective endeavor.  Which brings me to another goal for 2010: to foster community relationships and to improve my skills in communication, empathy, patience and compassion.

My kung fu training made me stronger, more flexible, more disciplined and more confident, which led to me becoming more centered, capable and independent.  Now I realize that one person alone can’t hope to achieve what a well-integrated, respectful and mature community can accomplish together.

If you’ve never done my goal-setting exercise, I encourage you to give it a try.  If you have, it might be a good time to go through it again.  Your understanding of the scope, purpose, and potential of martial arts may have changed in the interim (particularly if you took Master Smith’s seminar).

The goal-setting exercise is here.

I’d also suggest that you try a similar exercise with other areas of your life: work, relationships, attitude, social service, etc.  I spent some time over the holidays with a best friend of mine from college.  He has started writing little fictional sketches about a character that he would like to become in 5 years.  In doing so, he gives his unconscious, creative mind a chance to dialog with his logical conscious mind and moves his life path in a direction that leads to deeper happiness and satisfaction.

I look forward to seeing you!  As always, feel free to contact me with any questions.

~ by nolashaolin on January 5, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
